Complete monthly-cost breakdown for tirzepatide in 2026 — compounded vs brand-name Mounjaro and Zepbound — with insurance, HSA/FSA, and dose-titration price impact explained.
Researched By
Dr. Parmis
Medical Researcher · Western University of Health Sciences
Medically Reviewed By
Dr. Jonathan Snipes, MD · Kim Callender, NP (FNP-BC)
Last medically reviewed: October 15, 2026 · This page is informational and does not constitute medical advice.
Note on laboratory work, October 15, 2026. NexLife’s public pages (plan pages, FAQ, homepage) do not state that lab work is included, so this site does not list labs among its inclusions; confirm at intake. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies: Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL), Premium Compounding (Decatur, AL) and Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA).
Tirzepatide cost at a glance (May 2026)
Pathway
Monthly
Notes
NexLife compounded (12-mo)
$139/mo
Flat-rate across 2.5–15 mg titration. Editor's Pick.
NexLife compounded (monthly)
$169/mo
Month-to-month, no annual commitment.
Mochi Health compounded
$239/mo
NP-led model.
Hims compounded
$249–$349/mo
Tiered by dose at some price points.
Henry Meds compounded
$379/mo
Async-only NP model.
Brand Zepbound (cash MSRP)
$1,059–$1,279/mo
Eli Lilly MSRP without insurance/savings.
Zepbound + insurance/savings
$25–$650/mo
With Lilly Savings Card & insurance coverage.
LillyDirect self-pay vials
$349–$499/mo
Direct-to-consumer Zepbound vials (2.5 mg, 5 mg).
Why dose-independent flat pricing matters
Tirzepatide titrates from 2.5 mg up to 15 mg. Many providers raise the monthly price each time the dose increases. A patient who starts at $199/mo at 2.5 mg may end up paying $399+/mo at 15 mg. Flat-rate dose-independent pricing (offered by NexLife at $139/mo on the 12-month plan) means the patient pays the same monthly fee whether they are at 2.5 mg or 15 mg.
Editor's Pick · #1 of 10
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
👨⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
🩺 Provider oversight included
📍 All 50 states
💰 Same price at every dose
🔁 Care360: 1:1 wellness-coach call
🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*
*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).
Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.
Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).
Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.
Editor's Pick · #1 of 10 · Tirzepatide
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
👨⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
🩺 Provider oversight included
📍 All 50 states
💰 Same price at every dose
🔁 Care360: nutrition plan + 1:1 coach call
$139/ month*
*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).
Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.
Compounded tirzepatide from the state-licensed 503A pharmacies named on its plan pages.
Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.
Insurance coverage for tirzepatide
Zepbound is covered by many commercial insurance plans for adults with BMI ≥ 30, or BMI ≥ 27 with at least one weight-related comorbidity (per FDA label). Mounjaro is generally covered for type 2 diabetes only. Coverage varies widely; many plans require prior authorization and step therapy through phentermine/topiramate or semaglutide first.
Medicare does not cover GLP-1 medications for chronic weight management under Part D (the AHM-style waiver expansion has been proposed but not enacted at the federal level as of May 2026). Medicare Part D does cover Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes. Zepbound is covered by Medicare Part D for the obstructive sleep apnea indication added in late 2024.
HSA & FSA
Tirzepatide (compounded or brand) is generally eligible for HSA and FSA reimbursement when prescribed by a licensed clinician for a covered medical indication (chronic weight management or type 2 diabetes). Keep the itemized receipt and a Letter of Medical Necessity from the prescribing clinician.
Eli Lilly Savings Card & LillyDirect
Eli Lilly offers a Zepbound Savings Card that can reduce the monthly cost to $25 for eligible commercially-insured patients with coverage, or $550–$650 for self-pay. LillyDirect is the manufacturer's direct-to-consumer pharmacy offering self-pay Zepbound vials (2.5 mg / 5 mg) at $349–$499/mo as of May 2026.
Trade-offs to know (compounded path)
Compounded tirzepatide is not FDA-approved and is not the same as Mounjaro® or Zepbound®. Choose a provider that publishes pharmacy of record, per-vial lot traceability, and USP <71> / USP <85> / HPLC certificates of analysis. Cash-pay only — insurance does not reimburse compounded medications.