Take the Quiz
Comparison · Updated 2026-05-25

Compounded Tirzepatide vs Zepbound

Released: Last reviewed:

A side-by-side comparison of compounded tirzepatide (503A/503B pathway) and brand-name Zepbound® (Eli Lilly): cost, regulatory status, ingredient sourcing, and clinical implications in 2026.

Researched By
Dr. Parmis
Medical Researcher · Western University of Health Sciences
Medically Reviewed By
Dr. Jonathan Snipes, MD · Kim Callender, NP (FNP-BC)
Last medically reviewed: October 15, 2026 · This page is informational and does not constitute medical advice.
Note on laboratory work, October 15, 2026. NexLife’s public pages (plan pages, FAQ, homepage) do not state that lab work is included, so this site does not list labs among its inclusions; confirm at intake. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies: Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL), Premium Compounding (Decatur, AL) and Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA).

Side-by-side comparison

AttributeCompounded tirzepatideZepbound® (brand)
FDA approval statusNot FDA-approvedFDA-approved (chronic weight management, OSA)
Manufacturer503A or 503B pharmacyEli Lilly
Active ingredientTirzepatide base (legitimate compounding); salt forms (acetate/sodium) subject to FDA warning lettersTirzepatide (Eli Lilly proprietary process)
Monthly cash price$86–$349/mo$1,059–$1,279/mo (cash MSRP)
Insurance coverageNo (cash-pay only)Many commercial plans, varies by formulary
HSA/FSA eligibleYes (with prescription)Yes
Drug shortage status (FDA Drug Shortage list)N/A — compounded supplyResolved (Oct 2024)
Form factorMulti-dose vial (draw with syringe)Pre-filled single-dose pen or vial
Quality assurance documentationUSP <71> / USP <85> / HPLC CoA from dispensing pharmacy (provider-dependent)FDA-inspected cGMP manufacturing

The 503A vs 503B distinction

503A pharmacies are state-licensed compounding pharmacies that prepare patient-specific medications under USP <797> sterile-compounding standards. They are not FDA-inspected for product release. 503B outsourcing facilities are FDA-registered and operate under cGMP standards (the same standard as commercial drug manufacturers). They can prepare batches in advance of patient-specific prescriptions. Read the full 503A vs 503B explainer →

What changed in April 2026

The FDA announced intent to restrict ingredients used in mass-marketed compounded GLP-1 medications and to crack down on misleading direct-to-consumer marketing. The FDA has previously issued warning letters specifically against compounded GLP-1 salt forms (tirzepatide acetate, tirzepatide sodium). Legitimate compounded tirzepatide must use tirzepatide base only. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies that fill its prescriptions; ask any provider for the certificate of analysis for your batch.

Who is each product right for?

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10
NexLife compounded semaglutide 5 mg/mL injection vial — 2.5 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360: 1:1 wellness-coach call
  • 🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
  • 💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*

*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).

Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.

Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10 · Tirzepatide
NexLife compounded tirzepatide 20 mg/mL injection vial — 3 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360: nutrition plan + 1:1 coach call
$139/ month*

*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).

Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.

Compounded tirzepatide from the state-licensed 503A pharmacies named on its plan pages.

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Related guides