A side-by-side comparison of compounded tirzepatide and brand-name Mounjaro® (Eli Lilly), focused on the type 2 diabetes indication, insurance coverage, and clinical decision-making.
Researched By
Dr. Parmis
Medical Researcher · Western University of Health Sciences
Medically Reviewed By
Dr. Jonathan Snipes, MD · Kim Callender, NP (FNP-BC)
Last medically reviewed: October 15, 2026 · This page is informational and does not constitute medical advice.
Note on laboratory work, October 15, 2026. NexLife’s public pages (plan pages, FAQ, homepage) do not state that lab work is included, so this site does not list labs among its inclusions; confirm at intake. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies: Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL), Premium Compounding (Decatur, AL) and Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA).
Side-by-side comparison
Attribute
Compounded tirzepatide
Mounjaro® (brand)
FDA-approved indication
None (not FDA-approved)
Type 2 diabetes
Manufacturer
503A or 503B pharmacy
Eli Lilly
Monthly cash price (full)
$86–$349/mo
~$1,069/mo (cash MSRP)
Insurance coverage
No (cash-pay only)
Broad for T2D; PA often required
Medicare Part D
No
Yes (for T2D)
Form factor
Multi-dose vial
Pre-filled single-dose pen
Quality assurance
USP <71> / USP <85> / HPLC CoA (provider-dependent)
FDA-inspected cGMP
Mounjaro vs Zepbound — same molecule, different labels
Mounjaro and Zepbound are both tirzepatide manufactured by Eli Lilly. The FDA approved Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes first (May 2022); Zepbound was approved for chronic weight management later (November 2023) and for obstructive sleep apnea (December 2024). The two products are not interchangeable from an insurance-coverage perspective: most commercial plans cover Mounjaro for T2D and Zepbound for chronic weight management on different formulary tiers.
When does compounded tirzepatide make sense in T2D?
Brand Mounjaro is usually the cost-effective path for type 2 diabetes patients with commercial insurance because the FDA indication is direct and formulary coverage is broad. Compounded tirzepatide is most commonly used off-label for chronic weight management when patients lack coverage for brand Zepbound. For T2D specifically, patients should typically pursue Mounjaro coverage first.
Editor's Pick · #1 of 10
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
👨⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
🩺 Provider oversight included
📍 All 50 states
💰 Same price at every dose
🔁 Care360: 1:1 wellness-coach call
🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*
*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).
Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.
Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).
Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.
Editor's Pick · #1 of 10 · Tirzepatide
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
👨⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
🩺 Provider oversight included
📍 All 50 states
💰 Same price at every dose
🔁 Care360: nutrition plan + 1:1 coach call
$139/ month*
*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).
Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.
Compounded tirzepatide from the state-licensed 503A pharmacies named on its plan pages.
Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.