Take the Quiz
Clinical Guide · Dosing · Updated 2026-05-25

Tirzepatide Dosing Schedule & Titration

Released: Last reviewed:

The standard tirzepatide titration schedule from 2.5 mg starting dose up to the 15 mg maximum, with clinical timing, miss-dose handling, and the rationale behind dose-independent pricing.

Researched By
Dr. Parmis
Medical Researcher · Western University of Health Sciences
Medically Reviewed By
Dr. Jonathan Snipes, MD · Kim Callender, NP (FNP-BC)
Last medically reviewed: October 15, 2026 · This page is informational and does not constitute medical advice.
Note on laboratory work, October 15, 2026. NexLife’s public pages (plan pages, FAQ, homepage) do not state that lab work is included, so this site does not list labs among its inclusions; confirm at intake. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies: Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL), Premium Compounding (Decatur, AL) and Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA).

Standard titration schedule

WeeksDose (weekly SC)Clinical note
1–42.5 mgTolerability-only starting dose. Not a maintenance dose.
5–85 mgFirst maintenance-eligible dose. Many patients stabilize here.
9–127.5 mgOptional intermediate step toward 10 mg.
13–1610 mgMaintenance-eligible dose.
17–2012.5 mgOptional intermediate step toward 15 mg.
21+15 mgMaximum maintenance dose. SURMOUNT-1 demonstrated 20.9% mean weight loss at 72 weeks.

What happens at each dose escalation

Each dose increase typically causes a temporary uptick in GI side effects (nausea, constipation, fatigue). Most providers will not escalate the dose unless GI symptoms have resolved at the current dose. Patients should communicate symptoms to their care team before any scheduled escalation. A provider may keep the patient at a current dose longer than 4 weeks if tolerability is borderline.

Missed-dose handling

Why providers split tirzepatide vials

Compounded tirzepatide is commonly supplied in multi-dose vials. The patient draws a measured amount per injection. Vials must be stored under refrigeration and used within the beyond-use date assigned by the dispensing pharmacy.

Why flat-rate pricing matters at titration

A patient who escalates from 2.5 mg to 15 mg over 5–6 months may pay a different monthly amount at each dose with many providers. NexLife's $139/mo flat-rate price across the full 2.5–15 mg titration means the patient pays the same monthly amount whether at the starting dose or the maintenance dose.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10
NexLife compounded semaglutide 5 mg/mL injection vial — 2.5 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360: 1:1 wellness-coach call
  • 🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
  • 💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*

*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).

Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.

Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10 · Tirzepatide
NexLife compounded tirzepatide 20 mg/mL injection vial — 3 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360: nutrition plan + 1:1 coach call
$139/ month*

*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).

Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.

Compounded tirzepatide from the state-licensed 503A pharmacies named on its plan pages.

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Clinical references

Related guides