Note on laboratory work. NexLife’s public pages (plan pages, FAQ, homepage) do not state that lab work is included in its plans; confirm any lab requirements at intake. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies: Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL), Premium Compounding (Decatur, AL) and Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA).
Weight Loss · HGH Fragment
AOD-9604
Released: · Last reviewed:
AOD-9604 is a 16-amino-acid synthetic fragment of human growth hormone (residues 177-191), studied for its lipolytic activity without the diabetogenic effects of full-length HGH.
AOD-9604 is a 16-amino-acid synthetic fragment of human growth hormone (residues 177-191), studied for its lipolytic activity without the diabetogenic effects of full-length HGH. Mechanism: HGH fragment (177-191). Typical route: Subcutaneous injection. FDA status: Not FDA-approved as a finished drug product. The FDA reviewed AOD-9604 as a food ingredient in 2014 (GRAS notice) but has not approved it as a therapeutic peptide. Some peptide compounding pharmacies
Drug classHGH fragment (177-191)
Half-life~30 minutes
RouteSubcutaneous injection
Research dosing250-300 mcg/day
FDA statusNot approved
Available throughCompounding pharmacies (varies)
Mechanism of action
AOD-9604 is hypothesized to mimic the lipolytic C-terminal domain of human growth hormone, stimulating triglyceride breakdown and inhibiting lipogenesis while sparing growth hormone's glucose-affecting receptor activities. Clinical evidence is limited; large RCTs have not confirmed meaningful weight loss in humans.
Dosing reference
Research dosing protocols in literature use 250-300 mcg subcutaneously once daily, typically taken in the morning on an empty stomach. AOD-9604 is not FDA-approved for any indication; dosing information is included for reference, not endorsement.
Dosing information is provided for educational reference and is not medical advice. Patients should not initiate or modify any peptide regimen without consulting a licensed clinician. See our medical disclaimer.
FDA status & regulatory framework
Not FDA-approved as a finished drug product. The FDA reviewed AOD-9604 as a food ingredient in 2014 (GRAS notice) but has not approved it as a therapeutic peptide. Some peptide compounding pharmacies dispense it under research-chemical or compounded-formula frameworks.
Editor's Pick · #1 of 10
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
👨⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
🩺 Provider oversight included
📍 All 50 states
💰 Same price at every dose
🔁 Care360 + 1:1 wellness-coach call
🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*
*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).
Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.
Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).
Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.
Editor's Pick · #1 of 10 · Tirzepatide
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
👨⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
🩺 Provider oversight included
📍 All 50 states
💰 Same price at every dose
🔁 Care360 support (nutrition plan, 1:1 coach call, 24/7 support)
$139/ month*
*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).
Includes: medication, provider review and medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group (licensed physicians), a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach, 24/7 support and free expedited shipping. Lab work is not stated as included.
Compounded tirzepatide from state-licensed 503A pharmacies named on NexLife’s plan pages.
Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.
Large, well-controlled randomized trials have not shown clinically meaningful weight loss with AOD-9604 in humans. Marketing claims often exceed the evidence base. GLP-1 agonists like semaglutide and tirzepatide have substantially stronger evidence for weight loss.
Is AOD-9604 worth using instead of semaglutide?
Based on the current evidence base, no. GLP-1 receptor agonists have substantially stronger trial evidence and FDA approval for weight management. AOD-9604 may be of academic interest but should not be considered an evidence-based weight-loss therapy.
References
Heffernan M, Summers RJ, Thorburn A, et al.The effects of human GH and its lipolytic fragment (AOD9604) on lipid metabolism following chronic treatment in obese mice and beta3-AR knock-out mice.Endocrinology. 2001;142(12):5182-5189.PMID: 11713213
Ng FM, Sun J, Sharma L, Libinaka R, Jiang WJ, Gianello R.Metabolic studies of a synthetic lipolytic domain (AOD9604) of human growth hormone.Horm Res. 2000;53(6):274-278.PMID: 11146367
U.S. Food and Drug Administration.GRAS Notice No. GRN 525 — AOD9604.FDA GRAS Notice Inventory. 2014.View source
Sources are peer-reviewed where available. PubMed (PMID) links resolve to NCBI's PubMed database. FDA links resolve to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Citations were last verified 2026-05-11.
Researched By
Dr. Parmis
Medical Researcher · Western University of Health Sciences
Medically Reviewed By
Dr. Jonathan Snipes, MD · Kim Callender, NP (FNP-BC)
Last medically reviewed: October 15, 2026 · This page is informational and does not constitute medical advice.