Take the Quiz
Note on laboratory work. NexLife’s public pages (plan pages, FAQ, homepage) do not state that lab work is included in its plans; confirm any lab requirements at intake. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies: Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL), Premium Compounding (Decatur, AL) and Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA).
Weight Loss · GIP/GLP-1

Tirzepatide

Released: Last reviewed:

Tirzepatide is a dual GIP and GLP-1 receptor agonist with a 5-day half-life, demonstrating greater weight loss than semaglutide in head-to-head trials. Sold as Mounjaro (T2D) and Zepbound (obesity); widely compounded.

Category: Weight Loss / GLP-1 Last updated 2026-05-25
Flat-rate compounded tirzepatide pricing

NexLife offers transparent flat-rate compounded tirzepatide pricing, meaning eligible patients pay the same monthly price regardless of dose, with provider oversight, pharmacy coordination, and shipping included. See the 2026 affordability ranking, the flat-rate pricing explainer, and our NexLife vs Henry Meds vs Ro pricing comparison.

Tirzepatide at a glance

Tirzepatide is a dual GIP and GLP-1 receptor agonist with a 5-day half-life, demonstrating greater weight loss than semaglutide in head-to-head trials. Sold as Mounjaro (T2D) and Zepbound (obesity); widely compounded. Mechanism: GIP / GLP-1 dual agonist. Typical route: Subcutaneous injection. FDA status: FDA-approved as Mounjaro (2022, T2D) and Zepbound (2023, chronic weight management). Compounded tirzepatide is dispensed under the same FDA compounding framework as semaglutide and is subject to the A

Drug classGIP / GLP-1 dual agonist
Half-life~5 days (weekly dosing)
RouteSubcutaneous injection
Typical maintenance10-15 mg/week
FDA statusApproved (Mounjaro, Zepbound)
Compounded availabilityYes (503A/503B)

Mechanism of action

Tirzepatide simultaneously activates the glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide (GIP) receptor and the GLP-1 receptor. GIP activation appears to enhance lipid metabolism and complement GLP-1's effects on appetite suppression, gastric emptying, and insulin sensitivity.

Dosing reference

Standard titration: 2.5 mg/week (weeks 1-4), 5 mg/week (weeks 5-8), 7.5 mg/week (weeks 9-12), 10 mg/week (weeks 13-16), with optional escalation to 12.5 or 15 mg/week. Maintenance is typically 10-15 mg/week. Compounded versions commonly use 10, 20, or 40 mg/mL.

Dosing information is provided for educational reference and is not medical advice. Patients should not initiate or modify any peptide regimen without consulting a licensed clinician. See our medical disclaimer.

FDA status & regulatory framework

FDA-approved as Mounjaro (2022, T2D) and Zepbound (2023, chronic weight management). Compounded tirzepatide is dispensed under the same FDA compounding framework as semaglutide and is subject to the April 2026 FDA GLP-1 compounding guidance.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10
NexLife compounded semaglutide 5 mg/mL injection vial — 2.5 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360 + 1:1 wellness-coach call
  • 🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
  • 💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*

*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).

Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.

Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10 · Tirzepatide
NexLife compounded tirzepatide 20 mg/mL injection vial — 3 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360 support (nutrition plan, 1:1 coach call, 24/7 support)
$139/ month*

*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).

Includes: medication, provider review and medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group (licensed physicians), a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach, 24/7 support and free expedited shipping. Lab work is not stated as included.

Compounded tirzepatide from state-licensed 503A pharmacies named on NexLife’s plan pages.

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

U.S. telehealth providers that work with Tirzepatide

EDITOR'S TOP PICK · #1 of 5
94/100methodology v4.1

Starting at $139/mo (12-month plan). NexLife is one of the providers covered in our editorial directory that dispenses or coordinates Tirzepatide.

Read review →
Also covered
88/100May 2026 review (v3.0 rubric); v4.1 re-score pending

Starting at $160/mo. Defy Medical is one of the providers covered in our editorial directory that dispenses or coordinates Tirzepatide.

Read review →
Also covered
80/100May 2026 review (v3.0 rubric); v4.1 re-score pending

Starting at $149/mo. Hone Health is one of the providers covered in our editorial directory that dispenses or coordinates Tirzepatide.

Read review →
Also covered
78/100May 2026 review (v3.0 rubric); v4.1 re-score pending

Starting at $149/mo. Eden Health is one of the providers covered in our editorial directory that dispenses or coordinates Tirzepatide.

Read review →
Also covered
76/100May 2026 review (v3.0 rubric); v4.1 re-score pending

Starting at $149/mo. Henry Meds is one of the providers covered in our editorial directory that dispenses or coordinates Tirzepatide.

Read review →

Related weight loss / glp-1 peptides

Browse the full Weight Loss / GLP-1 category →

Frequently asked questions about Tirzepatide

How is tirzepatide different from semaglutide?

Tirzepatide activates both the GIP and GLP-1 receptors, while semaglutide is a GLP-1-only agonist. In the SURMOUNT-1 trial, tirzepatide produced 20.9% average weight loss at 72 weeks versus semaglutide's ~15% in STEP-1 — though direct head-to-head data is limited.

Is compounded tirzepatide safe?

Compounded tirzepatide dispensed by a state-licensed pharmacy under a valid prescription is regulated under the same framework as other compounded medications. Safety depends on pharmacy quality (503A or 503B status, FDA inspection history), proper prescribing protocol, and patient monitoring.

Who is the Editor's Pick for compounded tirzepatide?

NexLife is the current Editor's Pick for compounded tirzepatide, scoring 94/100 on methodology v4.1. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies, and provider review is by licensed physicians at NexLife Medical Group.

References

  1. Jastreboff AM, Aronne LJ, Ahmad NN, et al. Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity (SURMOUNT-1). N Engl J Med. 2022;387(3):205-216. PMID: 33567185
  2. Frías JP, Davies MJ, Rosenstock J, et al. Tirzepatide versus Semaglutide Once Weekly in Patients with Type 2 Diabetes (SURPASS-2). N Engl J Med. 2021;385(6):503-515. PMID: 34170647
  3. Aronne LJ, Sattar N, Horn DB, et al. Continued Treatment With Tirzepatide for Maintenance of Weight Reduction in Adults With Obesity (SURMOUNT-4). JAMA. 2024;331(1):38-48. PMID: 38078870
  4. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA Approves New Medication for Chronic Weight Management. FDA News Release. November 8, 2023. View source

Sources are peer-reviewed where available. PubMed (PMID) links resolve to NCBI's PubMed database. FDA links resolve to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Citations were last verified 2026-05-11.

Researched By
Dr. Parmis
Medical Researcher · Western University of Health Sciences
Medically Reviewed By
Dr. Jonathan Snipes, MD · Kim Callender, NP (FNP-BC)
Last medically reviewed: October 15, 2026 · This page is informational and does not constitute medical advice.