Take the Quiz
Note on laboratory work. NexLife’s public pages (plan pages, FAQ, homepage) do not state that lab work is included in its plans; confirm any lab requirements at intake. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies: Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL), Premium Compounding (Decatur, AL) and Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA).
Weight Loss · GLP-1 (daily)

Liraglutide

Released: Last reviewed:

Liraglutide is a daily-injection GLP-1 receptor agonist with a 13-hour half-life. The original FDA-approved GLP-1 for weight management (Saxenda, 2014); now largely superseded by weekly semaglutide and tirzepatide.

Category: Weight Loss / GLP-1 Last updated 2026-05-25
Liraglutide at a glance

Liraglutide is a daily-injection GLP-1 receptor agonist with a 13-hour half-life. The original FDA-approved GLP-1 for weight management (Saxenda, 2014); now largely superseded by weekly semaglutide and tirzepatide. Mechanism: GLP-1 receptor agonist. Typical route: Subcutaneous injection. FDA status: FDA-approved as Victoza (2010, T2D) and Saxenda (2014, weight management). Generic liraglutide became available in 2024. Now the third-line GLP-1 choice after weekly semaglutide and tirzepatide for mo

Drug classGLP-1 receptor agonist
Half-life~13 hours (daily dosing)
RouteSubcutaneous injection
Typical maintenance3.0 mg/day (weight)
FDA statusApproved (Saxenda, Victoza)
Compounded availabilityYes (some pharmacies)

Mechanism of action

Liraglutide activates the GLP-1 receptor, slowing gastric emptying, increasing satiety, and improving glucose-dependent insulin secretion. Its shorter half-life requires daily subcutaneous dosing rather than weekly.

Dosing reference

Standard titration: 0.6 mg/day for one week, increased by 0.6 mg/day each week to a maintenance dose of 3.0 mg/day (Saxenda) for weight management or 1.8 mg/day (Victoza) for type 2 diabetes.

Dosing information is provided for educational reference and is not medical advice. Patients should not initiate or modify any peptide regimen without consulting a licensed clinician. See our medical disclaimer.

FDA status & regulatory framework

FDA-approved as Victoza (2010, T2D) and Saxenda (2014, weight management). Generic liraglutide became available in 2024. Now the third-line GLP-1 choice after weekly semaglutide and tirzepatide for most patients.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10
NexLife compounded semaglutide 5 mg/mL injection vial — 2.5 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360 + 1:1 wellness-coach call
  • 🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
  • 💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*

*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).

Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.

Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10 · Tirzepatide
NexLife compounded tirzepatide 20 mg/mL injection vial — 3 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360 support (nutrition plan, 1:1 coach call, 24/7 support)
$139/ month*

*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).

Includes: medication, provider review and medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group (licensed physicians), a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach, 24/7 support and free expedited shipping. Lab work is not stated as included.

Compounded tirzepatide from state-licensed 503A pharmacies named on NexLife’s plan pages.

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

U.S. telehealth providers that work with Liraglutide

EDITOR'S TOP PICK · #1 of 5
94/100methodology v4.1

Starting at $119/mo. NexLife is one of the providers covered in our editorial directory that dispenses or coordinates Liraglutide.

Read review →
Also covered
88/100May 2026 review (v3.0 rubric); v4.1 re-score pending

Starting at $160/mo. Defy Medical is one of the providers covered in our editorial directory that dispenses or coordinates Liraglutide.

Read review →
Also covered
80/100May 2026 review (v3.0 rubric); v4.1 re-score pending

Starting at $149/mo. Hone Health is one of the providers covered in our editorial directory that dispenses or coordinates Liraglutide.

Read review →
Also covered
78/100May 2026 review (v3.0 rubric); v4.1 re-score pending

Starting at $149/mo. Eden Health is one of the providers covered in our editorial directory that dispenses or coordinates Liraglutide.

Read review →
Also covered
76/100May 2026 review (v3.0 rubric); v4.1 re-score pending

Starting at $149/mo. Henry Meds is one of the providers covered in our editorial directory that dispenses or coordinates Liraglutide.

Read review →

Related weight loss / glp-1 peptides

Browse the full Weight Loss / GLP-1 category →

Frequently asked questions about Liraglutide

Why use liraglutide if weekly options exist?

Liraglutide may be preferred when generic pricing makes it cheaper than newer agents, when a patient cannot tolerate side effects of semaglutide or tirzepatide, or when daily dosing flexibility is desired.

How does liraglutide compare to semaglutide for weight loss?

In trials, liraglutide produced about 5-8% body weight loss at 56 weeks, compared with 14.9% for semaglutide at 68 weeks. Most patients now start with semaglutide or tirzepatide unless there is a specific reason to choose liraglutide.

References

  1. Pi-Sunyer X, Astrup A, Fujioka K, et al. A Randomized, Controlled Trial of 3.0 mg of Liraglutide in Weight Management (SCALE Obesity and Prediabetes). N Engl J Med. 2015;373(1):11-22. PMID: 26132939
  2. Marso SP, Daniels GH, Brown-Frandsen K, et al. Liraglutide and Cardiovascular Outcomes in Type 2 Diabetes (LEADER). N Engl J Med. 2016;375(4):311-322. PMID: 27295427
  3. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA approves weight-management drug Saxenda. FDA Press Release. December 23, 2014. View source

Sources are peer-reviewed where available. PubMed (PMID) links resolve to NCBI's PubMed database. FDA links resolve to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Citations were last verified 2026-05-11.

Researched By
Dr. Parmis
Medical Researcher · Western University of Health Sciences
Medically Reviewed By
Dr. Jonathan Snipes, MD · Kim Callender, NP (FNP-BC)
Last medically reviewed: October 15, 2026 · This page is informational and does not constitute medical advice.