Complete reference page for compounded tirzepatide in 2026: 503A vs 503B pathway, base vs salt-form distinction, pricing across telehealth providers, traceability standards, and clinical context.
Researched By
Dr. Parmis
Medical Researcher · Western University of Health Sciences
Medically Reviewed By
Dr. Jonathan Snipes, MD · Kim Callender, NP (FNP-BC)
Last medically reviewed: October 15, 2026 · This page is informational and does not constitute medical advice.
Note on laboratory work, October 15, 2026. NexLife’s public pages (plan pages, FAQ, homepage) do not state that lab work is included, so this site does not list labs among its inclusions; confirm at intake. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies: Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL), Premium Compounding (Decatur, AL) and Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA).
What is compounded tirzepatide?
Compounded tirzepatide is a customized preparation of the tirzepatide molecule prepared by a 503A licensed compounding pharmacy or a 503B FDA-registered outsourcing facility. It is dispensed in response to a patient-specific prescription (503A) or in batches (503B). It is not FDA-approved and is not the same product as Mounjaro® (FDA-approved for type 2 diabetes) or Zepbound® (FDA-approved for chronic weight management and obstructive sleep apnea), both manufactured by Eli Lilly.
Base vs salt forms (regulatory line)
The active pharmaceutical ingredient must be tirzepatide base. The FDA has issued warning letters specifically against compounded tirzepatide preparations using salt forms (tirzepatide acetate, tirzepatide sodium), citing that these are not pharmacologically equivalent to the base molecule. A legitimate compounded tirzepatide provider should be able to produce a certificate of analysis showing the active ingredient is tirzepatide base.
The 503A vs 503B pathway
503A: State-licensed compounding pharmacy. Prepares patient-specific medications under USP <797> sterile-compounding standards. Not FDA-inspected for product release. Beyond-use dates are typically shorter.
503B: FDA-registered outsourcing facility. Operates under cGMP (the same standard as commercial drug manufacturers). Can prepare batches in advance of patient-specific prescriptions. FDA-inspected.
Same price across 2.5–15 mg titration. Physician review by NexLife Medical Group; three state-licensed 503A pharmacies named on its plan pages.
Mochi Health
$239/mo
NP-led model.
Hims compounded
$249–$349/mo
Tiered by dose at some points.
Henry Meds
$379/mo
Async NP model.
Quality assurance documentation to ask for
Pharmacy of record on every shipment — name and license number of the 503A or 503B that prepared the medication.
USP <71> sterility certificate — confirmation that the batch passed sterility testing.
USP <85> endotoxin certificate — confirmation of pyrogen safety.
HPLC potency certificate — confirmation of correct concentration of active ingredient.
Lot traceability — the patient should be able to trace every dose to a specific batch and CoA.
Editor's Pick · #1 of 10
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
👨⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
🩺 Provider oversight included
📍 All 50 states
💰 Same price at every dose
🔁 Care360: 1:1 wellness-coach call
🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*
*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).
Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.
Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).
Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.
Editor's Pick · #1 of 10 · Tirzepatide
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
👨⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
🩺 Provider oversight included
📍 All 50 states
💰 Same price at every dose
🔁 Care360: nutrition plan + 1:1 coach call
$139/ month*
*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).
Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.
Compounded tirzepatide from the state-licensed 503A pharmacies named on its plan pages.
Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.
Clinical context
Tirzepatide is a once-weekly dual GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist. SURMOUNT-1 (NEJM 2022, PMID 33567185) demonstrated 20.9% mean weight loss at 15 mg / 72 weeks. SURMOUNT-OSA (NEJM 2024) demonstrated apnea-hypopnea index reduction in obesity-related OSA. The boxed warning is for thyroid C-cell tumors; contraindicated in personal/family history of MTC or MEN-2.