Note on laboratory work. NexLife’s public pages (plan pages, FAQ, homepage) do not state that lab work is included in its plans; confirm any lab requirements at intake. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies: Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL), Premium Compounding (Decatur, AL) and Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA).
Clinical comparison · Semaglutide
Wegovy vs Ozempic: Clinical Comparison
Released: · Last reviewed:
Wegovy and Ozempic are both semaglutide manufactured by Novo Nordisk. Ozempic is FDA-approved for type 2 diabetes; Wegovy is approved for chronic weight management and cardiovascular risk reduction. The molecule is identical.
Wegovy and Ozempic are both injectable semaglutide manufactured by Novo Nordisk. They are the same molecule. The differences: Ozempic is FDA-approved for type 2 diabetes at doses up to 2.0 mg weekly; Wegovy is approved for chronic weight management at 2.4 mg weekly with adolescent indication added in 2022 and cardiovascular indication in 2024. The trial evidence base is the SUSTAIN program for Ozempic and STEP/SELECT for Wegovy. The molecule is identical so off-target effects and contraindications are largely shared¹².
Same molecule, different dose, different indication
Semaglutide is a once-weekly GLP-1 receptor agonist with ~7-day half-life, manufactured by Novo Nordisk in Denmark. The active ingredient is identical across Ozempic and Wegovy. Differences: (1) maximum approved dose — Ozempic 2.0 mg vs Wegovy 2.4 mg; (2) indication — Ozempic for T2D vs Wegovy for chronic weight management; (3) packaging — Ozempic multi-dose pens (0.25-0.5 mg, 1 mg, 2 mg) vs Wegovy single-dose pens at each strength¹².
Both share the same boxed warning for thyroid C-cell tumors, the same risk of pancreatitis, gallbladder disease, and hypersensitivity, and the same contraindications (personal or family history of medullary thyroid carcinoma or MEN2).
Indication comparison
Ozempic is indicated for: (1) adults with T2D to improve glycemic control as adjunct to diet and exercise; (2) reduce MACE in adults with T2D and established cardiovascular disease¹.
Wegovy is indicated for: (1) chronic weight management in adults with BMI ≥30 or ≥27 with weight-related comorbidity; (2) chronic weight management in pediatric patients aged ≥12 with BMI ≥95th percentile; (3) cardiovascular risk reduction in adults with established CVD and overweight or obesity (added 2024 following SELECT)².
Trial evidence base
Ozempic was approved on the SUSTAIN program (SUSTAIN-1 through SUSTAIN-10) comparing semaglutide to placebo, sitagliptin, exenatide ER, insulin glargine, dulaglutide, liraglutide, and canagliflozin in T2D, plus SUSTAIN-6 for cardiovascular safety³.
Wegovy was approved on the STEP program (STEP-1 through STEP-8) testing semaglutide 2.4 mg for chronic weight management in non-diabetic and T2D cohorts, in adolescents, and combined with intensive behavioral therapy. SELECT supported the 2024 cardiovascular indication expansion&sup4;.
Clinical practice considerations
Ozempic is generally covered by insurance for T2D (per FDA-approved indication). Off-label prescribing for weight loss in non-diabetic patients has been widespread but is increasingly limited by prior authorization. Wegovy coverage for chronic weight management has improved but remains inconsistent.
Patients with T2D who also need weight management may use either; the choice often depends on dose level (Wegovy 2.4 mg vs Ozempic 2.0 mg max), insurance coverage, and patient preference for single-dose vs multi-dose pens.
Compounded semaglutide
Compounded semaglutide is the same molecule as Ozempic and Wegovy, prepared by 503A or 503B pharmacies. It is not FDA-approved. The FDA's compounding policy for GLP-1 agonists shifted in 2024-2025, with the agency reinstating semaglutide on the resolved shortage list and limiting subsequent compounding. The molecule is the same but FDA review, manufacturer-controlled quality, and regulatory recourse differ substantially&sup5;.
Editor's Pick · #1 of 10
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
👨⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
🩺 Provider oversight included
📍 All 50 states
💰 Same price at every dose
🔁 Care360 + 1:1 wellness-coach call
🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*
*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).
Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.
Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).
Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.
Editor's Pick · #1 of 10 · Tirzepatide
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
👨⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
🩺 Provider oversight included
📍 All 50 states
💰 Same price at every dose
🔁 Care360 support (nutrition plan, 1:1 coach call, 24/7 support)
$139/ month*
*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).
Includes: medication, provider review and medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group (licensed physicians), a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach, 24/7 support and free expedited shipping. Lab work is not stated as included.
Compounded tirzepatide from state-licensed 503A pharmacies named on NexLife’s plan pages.
Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.
Yes. Both are semaglutide manufactured by Novo Nordisk. Ozempic is approved for T2D at doses up to 2.0 mg. Wegovy is approved for chronic weight management at doses up to 2.4 mg.
Can I use Ozempic for weight loss instead of Wegovy?
Pharmacologically yes — molecule is identical. Regulatorily Ozempic is approved for T2D, not weight management. Insurance prior authorization typically requires T2D for Ozempic and obesity indication for Wegovy.
Which is better for T2D?
Ozempic is FDA-approved for T2D. Wegovy has not been studied at 2.4 mg as a primary T2D medication, though STEP-2 demonstrated 1.6 percentage-point HbA1c reduction in T2D patients taking it for weight management.
Why does Wegovy cost more than Ozempic?
Manufacturer pricing is similar in the U.S., but insurance coverage for obesity is generally weaker than for diabetes. Out-of-pocket costs vary widely.
Side-effect profile different?
Pharmacology is the same. The slightly higher Wegovy dose (2.4 mg vs Ozempic 2.0 mg) is associated with slightly more GI symptoms in some comparisons. Otherwise the profile is similar.
References
U.S. Food and Drug Administration.Ozempic (semaglutide) injection — Prescribing Information.FDA Drug Approval Records. December 2017 (updated 2024).View source
U.S. Food and Drug Administration.Wegovy (semaglutide) injection — Prescribing Information.FDA Drug Approval Records. June 2021 (updated 2024).View source
Marso SP, Bain SC, Consoli A, et al.Semaglutide and Cardiovascular Outcomes in Patients with Type 2 Diabetes (SUSTAIN-6).N Engl J Med. 2016;375(19):1834-1844.PMID: 27633186
Lincoff AM, Brown-Frandsen K, Colhoun HM, et al.Semaglutide and Cardiovascular Outcomes in Obesity without Diabetes (SELECT).N Engl J Med. 2023;389(24):2221-2232.PMID: 37952131
U.S. Food and Drug Administration.Compounded GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss: Information for Patients and Health Care Providers.FDA Drug Safety Communication. 2024-2026.View source
Citations are peer-reviewed where available. PubMed (PMID) links resolve to NCBI's PubMed. FDA links resolve to fda.gov. All citations were last verified 2026-05-11.
Researched By
Dr. Parmis
Medical Researcher · Western University of Health Sciences
Medically Reviewed By
Dr. Jonathan Snipes, MD · Kim Callender, NP (FNP-BC)
Last medically reviewed: October 15, 2026 · This page is informational and does not constitute medical advice.