Take the Quiz
Note on laboratory work. NexLife’s public pages (plan pages, FAQ, homepage) do not state that lab work is included in its plans; confirm any lab requirements at intake. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies: Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL), Premium Compounding (Decatur, AL) and Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA).
Clinical Trial · Semaglutide

STEP-4 Trial: Continued vs Withdrawal

Released: Last reviewed:

STEP-4 (JAMA 2021) randomized 803 adults who completed semaglutide titration to continue or switch to placebo. Continued semaglutide: 7.9% additional loss. Placebo switch: 6.9% regain. 14.8 percentage-point gap quantifies the cost of discontinuation.

Clinical reference 4 peer-reviewed sources Last updated 2026-05-25
Editorial summary

STEP-4, published in JAMA in 2021, used a randomized withdrawal design to quantify what happens when semaglutide is discontinued versus continued in patients who have already lost weight. After 20 weeks of open-label semaglutide titration during which all participants lost approximately 10.6%, 803 participants were randomized to continue semaglutide or switch to placebo for 48 weeks. Continued semaglutide produced 7.9% additional weight loss; placebo-switched participants regained 6.9% — a 14.8 percentage-point difference¹.

Trial design

STEP-4 (Rubino et al., JAMA 2021) was a 68-week randomized withdrawal trial in 803 adults with overweight or obesity without diabetes¹. Phase 1 (weeks 1-20): all 902 enrolled received open-label semaglutide titrated to 2.4 mg with lifestyle intervention. Phase 2 (weeks 20-68): 803 participants on 2.4 mg were randomized 2:1 to continue semaglutide 2.4 mg or switch to placebo, with continued lifestyle intervention. Primary endpoint: % weight change from week 20 to week 68.

Run-in weight loss

During the 20-week run-in, all participants lost a mean 10.6% — consistent with semaglutide 2.4 mg trajectory during the titration phase¹. 803 completed to the 2.4 mg dose and were eligible for randomization.

Primary outcome

From week 20 to week 68, continued semaglutide lost an additional 7.9% (total 17.4% from original baseline). Placebo-switched regained 6.9% (ending at 5.0% loss from baseline). Treatment difference -14.8 percentage points (95% CI -16.0 to -13.5; P<0.001)¹. Proportion ≥5% weight loss from original baseline at week 68: 88.7% continued vs 47.6% placebo-switched. Cardiometabolic outcomes followed the same pattern.

Regain trajectory

Weight regain in the placebo arm was approximately linear over 48 weeks, with most regain in the first 24 weeks. By the end of the 48-week post-randomization period, participants were still below pre-treatment baseline but had lost most of the additional benefit gained during run-in¹. The trajectory mirrors STEP-1 extension findings².

Clinical implications

STEP-4 crystallized obesity pharmacotherapy as long-term therapy. The randomized within-trial comparison eliminated confounding by indication that limits observational discontinuation studies. The conclusion: stopping semaglutide is associated with substantial weight regain even with continued lifestyle intervention.

STEP-4 supports counseling patients at therapy start that semaglutide is intended for chronic use, with discontinuation expected to result in weight regain. Patients should partner in deciding long-term therapy versus eventual structured taper, with full transparency about the data.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10
NexLife compounded semaglutide 5 mg/mL injection vial — 2.5 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360 + 1:1 wellness-coach call
  • 🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
  • 💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*

*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).

Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.

Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10 · Tirzepatide
NexLife compounded tirzepatide 20 mg/mL injection vial — 3 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360 support (nutrition plan, 1:1 coach call, 24/7 support)
$139/ month*

*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).

Includes: medication, provider review and medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group (licensed physicians), a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach, 24/7 support and free expedited shipping. Lab work is not stated as included.

Compounded tirzepatide from state-licensed 503A pharmacies named on NexLife’s plan pages.

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Related editorial coverage

Frequently asked questions

What happens if I stop semaglutide?

Based on STEP-4 and STEP-1 extension, approximately two-thirds of weight lost will return over 12 months even with continued lifestyle intervention.

Lower dose for maintenance?

Reduced maintenance doses (e.g., 1.0 mg or 1.7 mg) are an active area of research. Randomized data specifically supporting this strategy are emerging.

Is the regain just water weight?

No. Regain reflected genuine increase in body fat and body mass. Cardiometabolic improvements partially reverted in parallel.

How long should I plan to take semaglutide?

Guidelines and trial data support indefinite use as long as tolerated and clinically appropriate. Obesity is framed as a chronic disease analogous to hypertension.

Way to keep weight off without continuing medication?

Without medication, full weight loss requires sustained behavioral effort exceeding pre-treatment baselines. Bariatric surgery is the most durable non-pharmacologic intervention. Most patients regain substantial weight after discontinuation.

References

  1. Rubino D, Abrahamsson N, Davies M, et al. Effect of Continued Weekly Subcutaneous Semaglutide vs Placebo on Weight Loss Maintenance: STEP 4. JAMA. 2021;325(14):1414-1425. PMID: 33755728
  2. Wilding JPH, Batterham RL, Davies M, et al. Weight regain and cardiometabolic effects after withdrawal of semaglutide: STEP 1 extension. Diabetes Obes Metab. 2022;24(8):1553-1564. PMID: 35441470
  3. Aronne LJ, Sattar N, Horn DB, et al. Continued Treatment With Tirzepatide for Maintenance of Weight Reduction: SURMOUNT-4. JAMA. 2024;331(1):38-48. PMID: 38078870
  4. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Wegovy (semaglutide) injection — Prescribing Information. FDA Drug Approval Records. View source

Citations are peer-reviewed where available. PubMed (PMID) links resolve to NCBI's PubMed. FDA links resolve to fda.gov. All citations were last verified 2026-05-11.

Researched By
Dr. Parmis
Medical Researcher · Western University of Health Sciences
Medically Reviewed By
Dr. Jonathan Snipes, MD · Kim Callender, NP (FNP-BC)
Last medically reviewed: October 15, 2026 · This page is informational and does not constitute medical advice.