Take the Quiz
Note on laboratory work. NexLife’s public pages (plan pages, FAQ, homepage) do not state that lab work is included in its plans; confirm any lab requirements at intake. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies: Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL), Premium Compounding (Decatur, AL) and Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA).
Special populations · Reproductive health

GLP-1 Agonists in Pregnancy and Contraception

Released: Last reviewed:

Semaglutide, tirzepatide, and liraglutide are pregnancy-contraindicated. Washout is ~2 months for semaglutide, ~4 weeks for tirzepatide. Tirzepatide reduces oral contraceptive absorption — barrier or non-oral backup required.

Clinical reference 4 peer-reviewed sources Last updated 2026-05-25
Editorial summary

GLP-1 receptor agonists are contraindicated in pregnancy due to animal reproductive toxicity and the absence of adequate human safety data. The FDA labels recommend discontinuation at least 2 months (semaglutide) or 4 weeks (tirzepatide) before a planned pregnancy¹². The Mounjaro and Zepbound labels carry an additional warning that tirzepatide may reduce oral contraceptive efficacy during initiation and each dose escalation, requiring non-oral contraception or barrier method backup for 4 weeks².

Pregnancy category and labeling

All GLP-1 receptor agonists currently marketed in the U.S. carry a recommendation against use during pregnancy. Wegovy and Ozempic labels recommend discontinuation at least 2 months before a planned pregnancy due to the ~7-day half-life of semaglutide (5 half-lives = ~35 days plus safety margin)¹. Tirzepatide labels (Mounjaro, Zepbound) recommend at least 4 weeks given its ~5-day half-life².

Animal studies in rats and rabbits showed adverse developmental outcomes at clinically relevant exposures (embryofetal mortality, structural abnormalities, growth alterations). Human pregnancy data are insufficient to characterize drug-associated risk.

Oral contraceptive interaction with tirzepatide

Tirzepatide reduces rate and extent of oral medication absorption due to delayed gastric emptying. A drug-drug interaction study showed single-dose ethinyl estradiol/norelgestromin AUC reduced ~20% and Cmax ~55% following the first tirzepatide dose and subsequent escalations².

The Mounjaro and Zepbound labels recommend switching to non-oral contraceptive (IUD, implant, injection) or adding a barrier method (condom) for 4 weeks after initiation and after each dose escalation. Semaglutide labels do not carry this specific warning, though delayed gastric emptying is a class effect.

If pregnancy occurs on GLP-1 therapy

Discontinue immediately on confirmation of pregnancy and refer for routine prenatal care. There is no evidence brief first-trimester exposure mandates pregnancy termination, but documented exposure should be reported to the relevant pregnancy registry (Wegovy or Mounjaro Pregnancy Registry). Standard early pregnancy ultrasound and anatomic survey are appropriate.

Breastfeeding

Labels state that data are insufficient to characterize presence in human milk or effects on milk production or the breastfed infant. Animal studies showed transfer of semaglutide to milk. Clinical guidance is to consider developmental and health benefits of breastfeeding alongside the mother's clinical need¹. Many clinicians recommend deferring GLP-1 initiation during lactation.

Fertility and weight loss

Weight loss in patients with obesity and infertility (particularly PCOS) frequently improves ovulatory cycles and conception rates. Patients on GLP-1 therapy not actively trying to conceive should use effective contraception, since restoration of fertility may precede their intent to conceive. Patients planning conception should discontinue with the timing described above and use bridging interventions during washout.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10
NexLife compounded semaglutide 5 mg/mL injection vial — 2.5 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360 + 1:1 wellness-coach call
  • 🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
  • 💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*

*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).

Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.

Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10 · Tirzepatide
NexLife compounded tirzepatide 20 mg/mL injection vial — 3 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360 support (nutrition plan, 1:1 coach call, 24/7 support)
$139/ month*

*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).

Includes: medication, provider review and medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group (licensed physicians), a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach, 24/7 support and free expedited shipping. Lab work is not stated as included.

Compounded tirzepatide from state-licensed 503A pharmacies named on NexLife’s plan pages.

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Related editorial coverage

Frequently asked questions

How long do I need to stop semaglutide before pregnancy?

FDA labels for Wegovy and Ozempic recommend at least 2 months. Based on the ~7-day half-life and clearance of 5 half-lives plus safety margin.

Does Mounjaro or Zepbound affect birth control pills?

Yes. Use a non-oral contraceptive (IUD, implant, injection) or add condoms for 4 weeks after starting or escalating tirzepatide.

What if I get pregnant on a GLP-1?

Stop immediately and contact your obstetrician. Report to the pregnancy registry. Standard early prenatal care.

Can I breastfeed on a GLP-1?

Current label guidance is that data are insufficient. Most clinicians recommend deferring GLP-1 until after weaning.

Can I use GLP-1 in PCOS if planning conception?

Yes for the weight-loss phase. Plan a washout (2 months semaglutide, 4 weeks tirzepatide) before active conception attempts.

References

  1. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Wegovy (semaglutide) injection — Prescribing Information. FDA Drug Approval Records. 2021 (updated 2024). View source
  2. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Mounjaro (tirzepatide) injection — Prescribing Information. FDA Drug Approval Records. 2022 (updated 2024). View source
  3. Pi-Sunyer X, Astrup A, Fujioka K, et al. A Randomized, Controlled Trial of 3.0 mg of Liraglutide in Weight Management (SCALE). N Engl J Med. 2015;373(1):11-22. PMID: 26132939
  4. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Zepbound (tirzepatide) injection — Prescribing Information. FDA Drug Approval Records. November 2023. View source

Citations are peer-reviewed where available. PubMed (PMID) links resolve to NCBI's PubMed. FDA links resolve to fda.gov. All citations were last verified 2026-05-11.

Researched By
Dr. Parmis
Medical Researcher · Western University of Health Sciences
Medically Reviewed By
Dr. Jonathan Snipes, MD · Kim Callender, NP (FNP-BC)
Last medically reviewed: October 15, 2026 · This page is informational and does not constitute medical advice.