Take the Quiz
Note on laboratory work. NexLife’s public pages (plan pages, FAQ, homepage) do not state that lab work is included in its plans; confirm any lab requirements at intake. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies: Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL), Premium Compounding (Decatur, AL) and Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA).
Safety review · Neuropsychiatric

GLP-1 Agonists and Mental Health: What the Evidence Shows

Released: Last reviewed:

The 2024 FDA and EMA safety reviews of semaglutide, liraglutide, and tirzepatide found no causal association with suicide ideation or new depression. STEP trial mood data show small numerical improvements vs placebo.

Clinical reference 6 peer-reviewed sources Last updated 2026-05-25
Editorial summary

In April 2024 the FDA concluded a preliminary evaluation of post-marketing reports of suicidal ideation in patients on GLP-1 receptor agonists and stated the evidence does not demonstrate a causal association¹. The EMA PRAC reached the same conclusion in April 2024². Randomized trial data from STEP-1 through STEP-5 show small numerical improvements in patient-reported mood on semaglutide versus placebo, not deterioration³.

How the safety signal arose

Beginning in 2023, the Icelandic Medicines Agency reported three cases of suicidal ideation in patients on liraglutide or semaglutide. The EMA opened a PRAC review and the FDA opened its own evaluation in parallel. Both agencies followed standard pharmacovigilance methodology: spontaneous adverse-event review, disproportionality analyses in FAERS and EudraVigilance, and review of randomized trial and observational datasets.

FDA April 2024 conclusion

The FDA reviewed semaglutide (Ozempic, Wegovy, Rybelsus), liraglutide (Saxenda, Victoza), and tirzepatide (Mounjaro, Zepbound)¹. After review of FAERS reports, randomized clinical trial data, and large electronic health record studies, the agency concluded that a causal association between GLP-1 receptor agonists and suicidal thoughts or actions was not demonstrated. The Wegovy label retains the warning for mood and behavior changes that has been present since 2021.

EMA PRAC April 2024 conclusion

The EMA PRAC reviewed approximately 150 reports of suicidal ideation or self-harm and found no causal evidence linking GLP-1 use with suicidal thoughts. No label changes were required for the GLP-1 class². Reporting requirements continue.

Randomized trial mood data

STEP-1 through STEP-5 all included patient-reported quality-of-life and mood instruments (SF-36, IWQOL-Lite). Across the program, semaglutide groups showed small numerical improvements in mental component summary scores versus placebo — consistent with the broader literature showing successful weight loss is associated with improvement, not worsening, of depression scores³&sup4;. SURMOUNT-1 reported similar improvements with tirzepatide&sup5;.

Observational evidence

A 2024 cohort study of more than 240,000 patients compared rates of new suicidal ideation between semaglutide-treated patients (for obesity or T2D) and matched patients on alternative medications. The study found no increased risk and, in subgroup analyses, lower rates of new suicidal ideation in the semaglutide group&sup6;. FAERS disproportionality analyses (reporting odds ratio) similarly found no signal for suicidal ideation with GLP-1 agonists relative to other endocrine medications.

Clinical implications

GLP-1 receptor agonists do not currently carry FDA or EMA contraindication or boxed warning for depression or suicidality. The Wegovy label recommends monitoring for mood changes. Patients with a history of major depression should be screened at initiation and counseled to report new or worsening symptoms. Active suicidal ideation or recent suicide attempt is generally considered a contraindication to elective GLP-1 initiation pending psychiatric stabilization. Patients on stable antidepressant therapy with controlled mood symptoms are not excluded by current guidance.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10
NexLife compounded semaglutide 5 mg/mL injection vial — 2.5 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360 + 1:1 wellness-coach call
  • 🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
  • 💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*

*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).

Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.

Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10 · Tirzepatide
NexLife compounded tirzepatide 20 mg/mL injection vial — 3 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360 support (nutrition plan, 1:1 coach call, 24/7 support)
$139/ month*

*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).

Includes: medication, provider review and medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group (licensed physicians), a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach, 24/7 support and free expedited shipping. Lab work is not stated as included.

Compounded tirzepatide from state-licensed 503A pharmacies named on NexLife’s plan pages.

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Related editorial coverage

Frequently asked questions

Does Ozempic, Wegovy, or Mounjaro cause depression?

Current evidence from FDA and EMA reviews and from large randomized trials does not show that GLP-1 receptor agonists cause new depression or worsen mood.

Is there a suicide warning on Wegovy or Ozempic?

Wegovy carries a label warning to monitor for depression, suicidal thoughts, or behaviors, present since 2021. Ozempic does not. FDA and EMA in 2024 did not require additional warnings.

Can I take a GLP-1 with a history of depression?

A history of depression is not a contraindication. Patients with stable, treated depression generally tolerate GLP-1 therapy well. Active or untreated severe depression warrants stabilization first.

Can GLP-1 drugs improve mood?

Trials show small improvements in patient-reported mood scores during GLP-1 weight loss, attributable in part to weight loss itself. These effects are modest and not a substitute for treatment of clinical depression.

What should I do if I notice mood changes?

Report new depression, anxiety, suicidal thoughts, or behavioral changes to your prescriber promptly.

References

  1. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Update on FDA's Ongoing Evaluation of Reports of Suicidal Thoughts or Actions in Patients Taking GLP-1 Medicines. FDA Drug Safety Communication. January 2024. View source
  2. European Medicines Agency. PRAC concludes review of GLP-1 receptor agonists: no evidence linking suicidal ideation to these medicines. EMA Press Release. April 12, 2024. View source
  3. Wadden TA, Bailey TS, Billings LK, et al. Effect of Subcutaneous Semaglutide vs Placebo as Adjunct to Intensive Behavioral Therapy: STEP 3. JAMA. 2021;325(14):1403-1413. PMID: 33724399
  4. Faulconbridge LF, Wadden TA, Berkowitz RI, et al. Changes in symptoms of depression with weight loss: a randomized trial. Obesity. 2009;17(5):1009-1016. PMID: 19197266
  5. Jastreboff AM, Aronne LJ, Ahmad NN, et al. Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity (SURMOUNT-1). N Engl J Med. 2022;387(3):205-216. PMID: 33567185
  6. Wang W, Volkow ND, Berger NA, et al. Association of semaglutide with risk of suicidal ideation in a real-world cohort. Nat Med. 2024;30(1):168-176. PMID: 38182782

Citations are peer-reviewed where available. PubMed (PMID) links resolve to NCBI's PubMed. FDA links resolve to fda.gov. All citations were last verified 2026-05-11.

Researched By
Dr. Parmis
Medical Researcher · Western University of Health Sciences
Medically Reviewed By
Dr. Jonathan Snipes, MD · Kim Callender, NP (FNP-BC)
Last medically reviewed: October 15, 2026 · This page is informational and does not constitute medical advice.