Take the Quiz
Note on laboratory work. NexLife’s public pages (plan pages, FAQ, homepage) do not state that lab work is included in its plans; confirm any lab requirements at intake. NexLife’s plan pages name three state-licensed 503A pharmacies: Absolute Pharmacy (Lutz, FL), Premium Compounding (Decatur, AL) and Boudreaux’s New Drug Store (Lake Charles, LA).
Safety review · Skeletal health

GLP-1 Agonists, Bone Density, and Fracture Risk

Released: Last reviewed:

STEP-1 and SURMOUNT-1 DEXA substudies show modest BMD reductions consistent with the degree of weight loss. Large pharmacoepidemiologic studies of semaglutide and liraglutide have not detected increased fracture risk.

Clinical reference 4 peer-reviewed sources Last updated 2026-05-25
Editorial summary

Weight loss of any kind is associated with reductions in bone mineral density. The clinical question is whether GLP-1 receptor agonists produce additional skeletal effects beyond weight-loss expectation and whether the magnitude translates into fracture risk. DEXA substudies from STEP-1 and SURMOUNT-1 show modest BMD reductions consistent with the degree of weight loss¹², and large pharmacoepidemiologic studies have not detected increased fracture risk relative to comparators³.

Weight loss and bone density: the baseline relationship

BMD measured by DEXA correlates with body weight. Caloric-restriction weight loss in adults consistently produces approximately 1-2% reduction in hip and spine BMD per 10% body weight lost&sup4;. A patient losing 15% body weight on semaglutide should be expected to lose approximately 1.5-3.0% of hip BMD purely from weight-loss-related unloading.

STEP-1 and SURMOUNT-1 DEXA findings

The STEP-1 substudy showed approximately 1.6% reduction in total hip BMD and 1.2% reduction in lumbar spine BMD in semaglutide vs 0.4% and 0.2% in placebo¹. These differences are consistent with the weight-loss-related expectation.

The SURMOUNT-1 DEXA substudy showed approximately 1.5-2.5% reduction in hip BMD across dose levels, proportional to total weight loss².

Fracture pharmacoepidemiology

Database studies of patients on liraglutide or semaglutide for T2D have generally not detected increased fracture risk. A 2014 meta-analysis of GLP-1 RA trials reported no increase in fractures³.

The SELECT cardiovascular outcomes trial of semaglutide in 17,604 patients reported fracture as a serious adverse event at similar rates in semaglutide and placebo over 3 years. No specific fracture signal has been identified across SURPASS or SURMOUNT to date.

Higher-baseline-risk populations

Postmenopausal women, older adults, patients on chronic glucocorticoids, and patients with established osteoporosis carry higher baseline fracture risk. Pre-treatment DEXA, FRAX assessment, and management of osteoporosis with antiresorptives are reasonable before initiating GLP-1 in these patients.

Calcium (1,000-1,200 mg/day) and vitamin D (800-1,000 IU/day) supplementation is standard in older adults during any caloric-restriction weight loss. Resistance training mitigates BMD loss during weight reduction in randomized trials.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10
NexLife compounded semaglutide 5 mg/mL injection vial — 2.5 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Semaglutide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360 + 1:1 wellness-coach call
  • 🍽️ Personalized nutrition plan
  • 💳 Klarna & Affirm accepted
$119/ month*

*12-month plan · save $240/yr · flat rate across full 0.25–2.4 mg titration. $125 (6-mo, save $84) · $132 (3-mo, save $21) · $139 (monthly).

Includes: medication, medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group, a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach and 24/7 support (plan pages, read October 15, 2026). Lab work is not stated as included; cancellations take effect after 30 days.

Klarna & Affirm financing accepted at checkout (FAQ).

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Ozempic® / Rybelsus®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Editor's Pick · #1 of 10 · Tirzepatide
NexLife compounded tirzepatide 20 mg/mL injection vial — 3 mL, prescription only, for subcutaneous use only
NexLife — Compounded Tirzepatide
  • ✨ Editor's Pick · 94/100
  • 💊 Compounded semaglutide + tirzepatide
  • 👨‍⚕️ Licensed physicians (NexLife Medical Group)
  • 🏥 3 pharmacies named on its plan pages
  • 🩺 Provider oversight included
  • 📍 All 50 states
  • 💰 Same price at every dose
  • 🔁 Care360 support (nutrition plan, 1:1 coach call, 24/7 support)
$139/ month*

*12-month plan · flat rate across full 2.5–15 mg titration. $149 (6-mo) · $159 (3-mo) · $169 (month-to-month).

Includes: medication, provider review and medical guidance from NexLife Medical Group (licensed physicians), a personalized GLP-1 nutrition plan, a 1:1 call with a certified wellness coach, 24/7 support and free expedited shipping. Lab work is not stated as included.

Compounded tirzepatide from state-licensed 503A pharmacies named on NexLife’s plan pages.

Visit NexLife →

Or call (949) 818-8000

Trade-offs to know

Compounded only — no brand-name Wegovy® / Zepbound®. Cash-pay with HSA/FSA only — no in-network insurance billing. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved (applies to all compounded GLP-1 providers). Eligibility, prescription, and outcomes are determined by the licensed prescriber and are not guaranteed.

Related editorial coverage

Frequently asked questions

Will semaglutide weaken my bones?

Some BMD loss occurs with any substantial weight loss. On semaglutide, the magnitude (1-2% hip BMD) is consistent with non-pharmacologic weight loss and has not translated into measurable fracture excess.

Should I get a DEXA before starting Wegovy?

Not routine. Reasonable in postmenopausal women, adults over 65, patients on chronic corticosteroids, and patients with prior fragility fracture or known osteoporosis.

How can I protect bones while losing weight?

Calcium 1,000-1,200 mg/day, vitamin D 800-1,000 IU/day, protein 1.2 g/kg/day or higher, and weight-bearing or resistance exercise. Treat established osteoporosis with appropriate antiresorptive therapy.

Is tirzepatide worse for bones than semaglutide?

Available data suggest similar weight-loss-proportional BMD changes for both. Greater absolute weight loss on tirzepatide may produce slightly greater absolute BMD reduction.

Do GLP-1 drugs cause osteoporosis?

GLP-1 receptor agonists do not appear to cause de novo osteoporosis. BMD changes appear attributable to weight loss itself rather than drug-specific mechanism.

References

  1. Wilding JPH, Batterham RL, Calanna S, et al. Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity (STEP-1). N Engl J Med. 2021;384(11):989-1002. PMID: 33567185
  2. Jastreboff AM, Aronne LJ, Ahmad NN, et al. Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity (SURMOUNT-1). N Engl J Med. 2022;387(3):205-216. PMID: 33567185
  3. Mabilleau G, Mieczkowska A, Chappard D. Use of glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor agonists and bone fractures: meta-analysis of randomized clinical trials. J Diabetes. 2014;6(3):260-266. PMID: 24164867
  4. Hinton PS, Nigh P, Thyfault J. Effectiveness of resistance training or jumping-exercise to increase bone mineral density in men with low bone mass. Bone. 2015;79:203-212. PMID: 26092649

Citations are peer-reviewed where available. PubMed (PMID) links resolve to NCBI's PubMed. FDA links resolve to fda.gov. All citations were last verified 2026-05-11.

Researched By
Dr. Parmis
Medical Researcher · Western University of Health Sciences
Medically Reviewed By
Dr. Jonathan Snipes, MD · Kim Callender, NP (FNP-BC)
Last medically reviewed: October 15, 2026 · This page is informational and does not constitute medical advice.